Skip to main content

Manage Customers

ThinkReservations makes it easy to manage your customers. Customer information records are stored in profiles. See below for instructions below for how to create, update, merge, and delete customers.


New Customer

Creating a new customer profile when taking a reservation:

You can create a new customer record or profile when taking a reservation without needing to leave the reservation page. Follow the steps below:

  1. On the left, under "CUSTOMER," click on Name and type the customer's first and last name.

  2. If the customer does not already exist in the records shown to you, be more specific to display more relevant results, or click on Add Customer right below the name you typed.

  3. Fill in the customer information -- all fields are optional.

  4. Click on the "Add Customer" button at the bottom right of the page.

The customer profile has been created, and it has been associated with the reservation!

Creating a new customer profile:

You can create a new customer profile any time by going to the Customers page. Follow the steps below:

  1. In the top navigation of ThinkReservations, click on Customers.

  2. Click on the New button at the top right.

  3. Fill in the customer information -- all fields are optional.

  4. Click on the Save button at the top right when done.

The customer profile or record has now been created.

Update Customer

Updating a customer when looking at a reservation:

When looking at a bill or reservation, you can update a customer's information without needing to leave the page. Follow the steps below:

  1. On the left of the bill or reservation, under "CUSTOMER," click on the customer's name.

  2. In the drop-down, click on Edit Customer.

  3. Update the customer information -- all fields are optional.

  4. Click on the Save button at the top right of the page when you are done.

If you need to put a different guest in a reservation, use the Change... button.

Updating the customer profile or record:

You can update any existing customer profile any time by going to the Customers page. Follow the steps below:

  1. In the top navigation of ThinkReservations, click on Customers.

  2. Search for the customer you want to update. Then click on the customer's row to be taken to their customer profile.

  3. Click on Edit on the top right.

  4. Update the customer information -- all fields are optional.

  5. Click on the Save button at the top right.

Merge Customers

If you have multiple customer profiles or records that really are the same customer, you can use the merge function to combine all profiles into one easily. Click here to see the proper steps.

NOTE: It is your responsibility to update the customer profile using the form fields at the top with the correct information from each profile!

Once you click Save on the top right, it will save your changes and discard the other profiles.

Delete Customer

Thinking about deleting a customer? Have you considered merging customers instead?

Delete a customer:

Deleting a customer will delete its corresponding profile or record and cause any reservation that was associated with that customer to no longer be associated with a customer. Follow the steps below:

  1. In the top navigation of ThinkReservations, click on Customers.

  2. Search for the customer you want to delete. Then click on the customer's row to be taken to their customer profile.

  3. Click on Delete on the top right. Confirm by clicking OK in the popup.

The customer has now been deleted, and any reservations associated with it are no longer associated with it.

Please note: It may take up to 10 seconds for the search index to update appropriately.


Banned Customers

The Banned Customer feature lets you block specific guests from making new online reservations by flagging their customer profile as a banned customer. You can toggle the flag on or off in a customer profile at any time.

Click here to learn more about the Banned Customers feature.

Did this answer your question?