Skip to main content

Why is a customer not marked as a repeat guest?

If you have a guest that you are confident has been with you before, but they don't have the white and green star on the reservation, there are a few reasons why this might be.

  1. There are multiple customer records or profiles for the same person

  2. The "Repeat Customer Icon" not enabled in Settings > Reservation Calendar

  3. The customer is not actually a repeat guest

The most common scenario is that there are multiple guest profiles for the same person. There is some logic in place for the system to identify the same person and use the same profile, but it's very careful about making that assumption.

Identify how many guest profiles you have for the same person

  1. Click Customers in the black bar at the top.
    (Note you are not clicking the Magnifying glass.)

  2. Enter the name of the customer and click Search.

  3. Each row in the results represents a unique customer profile!

If you have more than one, confirm they are in fact the same, and then Merge them.

Identify if there are other reservations for a guest profile

From the reservation:

  1. Click the blue name of the customer on the reservation or bill

  2. This will take you to the customer profile for that particular record. All reservations are listed below. Don't see the reservations you are expecting? They likely live with another customer profile with the same or similar name.

From Customers page

  1. Search for the customer from the Customers page.

  2. Click on a result in the list.

  3. This will take you to the customer profile for that particular record. All reservations are listed below. Don't see the reservations you are expecting? They likely live with another customer profile with the same or similar name.

Logic used to automatically merge

The system will automatically merge a new reservation made by the guest online when the name and email ad exact matches. If the name or the email do not both match an existing profile, a new profile record is created. In these cases, you will need to manually merge them.

Did this answer your question?